Bill Direen - Songs for Mickey Joe

The album looks back to the 1930s, and the popular movement that brought Michael Joseph Savage and New Zealand's first Labour government to power, in an effort to draw some lessons for present-day New Zealand. Songs for Mickey Joe is being issued by Powertool Records. The poet and playwright Alan Brunton wrote the words with music by Bill. His words would be based on the speeches of Michael Joseph Savage.
1. Build the Ideal
2. Put a li'l sugar in your pocket,friend
3. Comrade Joe
4. Song of the Unemployed
5. Kindly Stranger (walk with him)
6. Soldier in the War
7. Unemployed (alt. version)
8. From the Cradle to the Grave

Price: $20.00

See the artist on

Bill Direen 
Bill Direen - Songs for Mickey Joe
Click to view full size image